Przejdź do głównej treści

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron


First Polish–French Science Award for prof. Marcin Szwed

Dr hab. Marcin Szwed and Prof. Laurent Cohen, as well as Prof. Jakub Zakrzewski and Dr Dominique Delande, have been honoured with the first Maria Skłodowska and Pierre Curie Polish–French Science Award. The award is given for outstanding scientific achievements resulting from cooperation between researchers from Poland and France.

Cognitive scientist Marcin Szwed from the Institute of Psychology at Jagiellonian University and neurologist Laurent Cohen from the Brain & Spine Institute (Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière—ICM) have been recognized for innovative research on the processes occurring in the brain when reading. Physicists Jakub Zakrzewski from the Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Applied Computer Science at Jagiellonian University and Dominique Delande from the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) have received the award for achievements in the physics of quantum mechanical systems.

The Maria Skłodowska and Pierre Curie Polish–French Science Award was established in 2019 by the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP), the French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation (MESRI), and the French Academy of Sciences to mark the Polish–French Year of Science. The aim of the award is to support and promote Polish–French scientific cooperation. The award is given through a competition and carries a prize of EUR 15,000 for each laureate.

“This is another initiative by the Foundation for Polish Science supporting cooperation between Polish researchers and researchers from foreign institutions,” explained FNP president Prof. Maciej Żylicz. “We are very pleased that with our French partners, we have succeeded in bringing the award to fruition. The interest in the competition was great, which demonstrates that scientific contacts between researchers from Poland and France is growing. We expect the Polish–French Science Award to serve as an element contributing to further deepening and strengthening of that cooperation.”

There were 51 nominations in the first competition for the award. The laureates were chosen by an award committee comprising distinguished scientists from France and Poland named by the Foundation for Polish Science and the French Academy of Sciences.

Learn more.